Beale Street and Roma won big at the Film Independent Spirit Awards 2019

Hosted by indie movie queen Aubrey Plaza, the Spirit Awards 2019 celebrated the best of independent cinema. If Beale Street Could Talk, Roma, and Can You Ever Forgive Me? won big ahead of the Oscars. Check out the winners below.

Best Feature

Winner: If Beale Street Could Talk
Eighth Grade
First Reformed
Leave No Trace
You Were Never Really Here

Best Director

Winner: Barry Jenkins –If Beale Street Could Talk 
Debra Granik – Leave No Trace
Lynne Ramsay – You Were Never Really Here
Paul Schrader – First Reformed
Tamara Jenkins – Private Life

Best Female Lead

Winner: Glenn Close – The Wife
Carey Mulligan – Wildlife
Elsie Fisher – Eigth Grade
Helena Howard – Madeleine’s Madeleine
Regina Hall – Support the Girls
Toni Collette – Hereditary

Best Supporting Female

Winner: Regina King – If Beale Street Could Talk
J. Smith Cameron – Nancy
Kayli Carter – Private Life
Thomasin Harcourt McKenzie – Leave No Trace
Tyne Daly – A Bread Factory

Best Male Lead

Winner: Ethan Hawke – First Reformed
Christian Malheiros – Sócrates
Daveed Diggs – Blindspotting
Joaquin Phoenix – You Were Never Really Here
John Cho – Searching

Best Supporting Male

Winner: Richard E. Grant – Can You Ever Forgive Me?
Adam Driver – BlacKkKlansman
John David Washington – Monsters and Men
Josh Hamilton – Eighth Grade
Raúl Castillo – We the Animals

Best Screenplay

Winner: Nicole Holofcener, Jeff Whitty – Can You Ever Forgive Me
Boots Riley – Sorry to Bother You
Paul Schrader – First Reformed
Richard Glatzer, Rebecca Lenkiewicz, Wash Westmoreland – Colette
Tamara Jenkins – Private Life

Best Editing

Joe Binni – You Were Never Really Here
Alex Hall, Anne Fabini, Gary Levy – The Tale
Keiko Deguchi, Brian A. Gates, Jeremiah Zagar – We the Animals
Nick Fenton, Julian Hart, Chris Gill, Luke Dunkley – American Animals
Nick Houy – Mid90s

Best Cinematography

Winner: Sayombhu Mukdeeprom – Suspiria
Ashley Connor – Madeleine’s Madeleine
Benjamin Loeb – Mandy
Diego Garcia – Wildlife
Zak Mulligan – We the Animals

Best First Feature

Winner: Sorry to Bother You
The Tale
We the Animals

Best First Screenplay

Winner: Bo Burnham – Eighth Grade
Christian Choe – Nancy
Cory Findley – Thoroughbreds
Jennifer Fox – The Tale
Quinn Shephard, Laurie Shephard – Blame

Best Documentary

Winner: Won’t you be my Neighbor?
Hale County This Morning, This Evening
Minding the Gap
Of Father and Sons
On Her Shoulders

Best International Film

Winner: Roma
Happy as Lazzaro
The Favourite

Sneh Rupra

Co-founder & Editor

Sneh co-founded Outtake Mag with Laura. She has a day job in film PR and dreams of a day when everyone has equal opportunities in the film industry. Her opinions are always right, so jot that down.